Skip to content

Goodbye Bafana

December 8, 2013

mandela
“South Africa’s first black president and anti-apartheid icon Nelson Mandela has died at the age of 95.”         http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-25249520

This Saturday I watched the movie, “Goodbye Bafana” to have a glimpse of the life of this great man, Mandela. At the age of 44, he was sentenced to life imprisonment for fighting against the apartheid government. I was touched by the scene when he was finally allowed to meet his wife after over twenty years’ imprisonment. Instead of being overjoyed, he looked nervous and hesitant. He said to the guard, “I haven’t touched my wife for twenty-one years.” I wonder how it feels when he fought for a great cause at the expense of his precious family life for almost three decades. His son died in a car accident when he was in prison. His family suffered from political persecution when he was imprisoned. Luckily, he lived a rather long life, long enough to see his dreams fulfilled and create a new era for the people in South Africa. The following is the report from CNN student news.

http://voicetube.tw/videos/8476?ref=cnn_student_news

Go to the website English Central and watch the videos about Mandela.

http://www.englishcentral.com/search?search=mandela

The following are some of his famous quotes:

– “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use

to change the world.”

–  “I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the

triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel

afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”

–  “The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling,

but in rising every time we fall.”

– “Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many

times I fell down and got back up again.”

Sourced from:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/367338.Nelson_Mandela

The following blog lists 10 memorable quotes spoken by Mandela. The blogger also wrote about her memory towards him.

http://englishwithatwist.com/ShanthiBlog/?wref=bif

Pick one of Mandela’s quotes and translate it into Chinese. Write about what it means to you or how it inspires you?

From → News articles

25 Comments
  1. Noah(39)&Fanny(19) permalink

    “Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.”
    別以我的成功評斷我,以我失敗後站起的次數評斷。

  2. Chaves Yeh(30) permalink

    “The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”

    最偉大的榮耀不是從未失敗,而是能夠在每一次的失敗後再一次重新振作。

  3. sharon permalink

    I am the captain of my soul.我是我靈魂的主人。
    when I am my soul’s captain, I am a captain of myself.

  4. Jia Min permalink

    “Appearances matter — and remember to smile.” 外表最重要的就是笑容

    Because I think the smile is an important language.

  5. 7曾偉哲 16李芳齡 permalink

    “It always seems impossible until it’s done.” ― Nelson Mandela
    總是有很多看起來不可能的事要到做過了才知道不是不可能。
    This sentence encourages us don’t be afraid to do anything.
    And just do it.
    I love what this sentence means.

  6. Bill & Cindy (01 & 34) permalink

    01:
    I am not a saint, unless you think of a saint as a sinner who keeps on trying.
    我不是個聖人,除非你把聖人認為是個不斷嘗試的罪人。
    I think we should keep trying to become the best person.

    34:
    Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and set back up again.
    別用我的成功來評論我,請以我跌倒及爬起來的次數來評斷。
    I think it’s not ashamed to fail, whether one can set back up is the most important.

  7. Sally 29 permalink

    Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.
    教育是最有力量的武器,你可以以它來改變世界。

    I think that education is so powerful that it can even change a man.

  8. Mike 05 permalink

    It always seems impossible until it’s done. 直到完成前 一切似乎是不可能
    This quote inspires me that we should never give up until we succeed

  9. 18 Rou-Chun permalink

    “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”
    教育是最強大的武器,你可以用來改變世界。

    I think education is the best way to change the world.
    By educating, you can know how to use the strategies effectively.

  10. A-Hua permalink

    -“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the
    triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel
    afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”
    -我發現勇氣並不是不畏懼,而是能夠戰勝它。
    一個勇敢的人並不是不會害怕,而是他能克服恐懼。

  11. April38 permalink

    “The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” 人生最自豪的並不是不曾失敗,而是每當失敗都能再次站起來。
    I like this sentence the most. No one is perfect and the most important is how to get back on your feet when you make mistakes.

  12. Fang-Yu Huang permalink

    “Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.”
    別只評論我的成功,而是去評論我有多少次的失敗又重新東山再起。

    I couldn’t agree more what he said. Sometimes many people only focus on a man what his successes are instead of how he succeed.

  13. “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use

    to change the world.”教育是最強大的武器你可以用它來改變世界。

    This quote is inspirit me because I think that only education can change people’s thinking. Only have correct thinking that we can make a correct decide. When everyone has positive thinking, we can change the world.

  14. 陳念妤22 permalink

    I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.
    我了解到勇敢並不是無所畏懼,而是你戰勝了它。一個勇敢的人並不是不感到害怕,而是他戰勝了恐懼。

    I love this quote the most because it tells us that a brave man isn’t the one who was born to be courageous, but the one who can definitely face the fear and overcome it.
    We still have the right to be afraid of something as long as we are able to conquer it.

  15. pei chen huang permalink

    I am the captain of my soul.我是靈魂的主宰者

    Do anything that you consider it right. Never be controled by others. Just do yourself!

  16. Cindy Lai 35 permalink

    Do not judge me by my success, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.
    別從我的成功來評斷我,請從我失敗再站起來的次數來評論我。

    One should not judge another one by his achievement!

  17. A-Hua permalink

    A-Huaaa 32 號 。

    I saw some relevant news about Mandela’s life last week. I was touched by his contribution and his sacrifice. Though he passed away, I believe people will always remember what he had done.

  18. Nani 12 Ashley17 permalink

    Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.
    別只評論我的成就 而是評論我從多少次的失敗中再站起來

    People always see the side of those who succcess, but they don’t know how many times they fell down and got back up behind their success.

  19. Tina 31 permalink

    “After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.”
    當你爬上一座高山,會發現有更多山要爬。

    In our life, we have many challenges to face until we die.
    We need to strive to complete it.

  20. 28 FION permalink

    “I am the captain of my soul.”
    我是心靈的主導者。
    Mandela is a very powerful man. I am proud of what he had done to his country.

  21. Kai Ting Chang permalink

    “After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.”
    在攀爬過一座巨大的山坡後,只會發現一件事,那就是還有更多的山坡等著我們攀爬
    I think this is a good sentence that everyone has much difficulties to face.But, if we finish these obstacles,we will be success in the futurte!

  22. Lesley36 permalink

    “For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.”
    自由不只是丟棄枷鎖,而是尊重和提升他人的的自由。

    I think that when we respect others, we make ourselves free.

  23. Hsuan-Yi Wu 14 permalink

    “The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”活著最大的榮耀不是在於從未失敗過,而是每次失敗都能重新站起來 It is important to never give up whatever challenges we face.

  24. 08 John permalink

    Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”
    教育是最強大的武器你可以用它來改變世界

  25. Steffi 11 Lily 25 permalink

    “If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart.”
    如果你用他聽的懂得語言何他講話,哪只是跟他的頭腦講話,如果你用它的母語講話,你便是跟他的心裡講話。

Leave a Reply

Connected Teaching and Learning

Education, lesson plans, technology

Vicky Loras's Blog

A Blog About Education

Oxford University Press

English Language Teaching Global Blog

Ed Tech Ideas

Tech Integration for Busy Teachers

What Ed Said

A blog about learning

Mr. Purdon's Class Blog

Where student writing matters!

idiolectica

"we do language. that may be the measure of our lives"

News Podge

the best news.

Benology 阿賓。學

A blog that we learn together. Keep thinking, doing and sharing.

English with a Twist

Succeed in Business with English

Erinis quotes

This blog is about words: a collection of quotes I like with my random thoughts.

An A-Z of ELT

Scott Thornbury's blog

teflgeek

thinking about language teaching

E for Educate

Enrich. Enlighten. Empower.

