Skip to content

A class blog

October 12, 2013

When I tried to start an English blog, my husband was the first one against it. “Blogging is out-dated, now people are using web 3.0, like facebook, to interact with each other,” he said. “You mean people stop blogging? “I asked. ” Well, only those who are really good can survive in the blogging world,” he said with a scholastic look. The fact is he never visits my blog even though he hears me talking about it all the time.

If that is the case, why did I create this class blog?  Well, self-cultivation is the first thing that occurs to me. I feel like swimming in the ocean of knowlege while hunting for my teaching materials. I experience travel sickness a lot but also have many unexpected gatherings. Like a cook unwilling to see his/her food wasted, I also expect my students to learn from my blog. I hence designed some class activities based on these materials. Although in a sense my students are forced to leave their comments on my posts, but the dialogues between each individual learner and me are also initiated. I get to hear their voices and they can see each other’s comments in the meantime. It’s great to see heaps of students’ comments, but nothing can compare when I see a comment left by my fellow colleague or a teacher from abroad. I thereby started to follow some good teacher bloggers and leave my footprints on their wonderland. Reading articles posted by different teachers is a good way to broaden my perspectives as well as to build professional relationships with them. I think teacher is one of the occupations that are willing to share and spread good ideas.  I am so lucky to be a teacher.

I do not blame my husband for not following my blogs. He has followed my life for many years. However, I will keep exploring the possibilities of edublogging. I know it may sound like an ad, but why not give it a try?

From → Inspiration

6 Comments
  1. Same feelings here! Chin up, my ex-partner in Ireland, now we are blog-partners in Taiwan. Ha! keep going!

    • It’s really stimulating to have such a witty and productive blog-partner like you. ^___^

  2. I’ve always thought that you’re very devoted to your work and life. Please keep exploring every possibility no matter what that is and no matter how far-fetched it appears:)

    • Thank you, my dear friend. You are a very talented writer as well as a good translator. I think there’s a lot for me to learn from you. ^^

  3. Thanks, Patty:) I’m so flattered.
    I guess the reason your hubby opposed your blogging was that he wanted to be your exclusive follower:P

  4. This is a very cute thought. I like it.

Leave a Reply

Connected Teaching and Learning

Education, lesson plans, technology

Vicky Loras's Blog

A Blog About Education

Oxford University Press

English Language Teaching Global Blog

Ed Tech Ideas

Tech Integration for Busy Teachers

What Ed Said

A blog about learning

Mr. Purdon's Class Blog

Where student writing matters!

idiolectica

"we do language. that may be the measure of our lives"

News Podge

the best news.

Benology 阿賓。學

A blog that we learn together. Keep thinking, doing and sharing.

English with a Twist

Succeed in Business with English

Erinis quotes

This blog is about words: a collection of quotes I like with my random thoughts.

An A-Z of ELT

Scott Thornbury's blog

teflgeek

thinking about language teaching

E for Educate

Enrich. Enlighten. Empower.

