Skip to content

A Taiwanese Moon Festival

September 25, 2013

Two decades ago, there was an advertising war between two soy sauce companies. They kept lauching a series of TV ads. One of the company, Wajashan Foods, came up with the slogan,” When one family grills, 10,000 families smell the aroma.” As the two companies placed more ads on TV, suddenly everyone seemed to be thinking about barbequing. That year, so many families grilled that a custom was born, and everyone has enjoyed barbequing during the Mid-Autumn Festival ever since. Nowadays, Taiwanese would BBQ in front of their houses with their friends and families on Moon Festival and it has become a particular culture in Taiwan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wJ0BfY5SS4

This is how my students celebrate their Moon Festival

First, make a fire. (with charcoal)

Second, grill your food and eat it.

Then, move your body.

Above all, have fun!

cimg611632 cimg61422

1236584_656188604415365_711034959_n2

Bill says on Edmodo:

I am happy that I could be invited to Kevin’s house to celebrate the Moon Festival with a big BBQ party. At this four-day vacation, I was invited to many BBQ parties, but the party in Kvin’s house give me a new feeling about Moon Festival. So, I hope that I can experience this again.

487945_656193504414875_410257656_n2

Cindy says:

I had a good time last Saturday! My classmates and I went to Kevin’s house to have BBQ. I had BBQ with my junior high school classmates before, but this time I felt more relaxed and happy. Hope we can always keep these memories after graduating 🙂

Sally went to Dan Shui and wrote:

moon_festival

Lai Chien Hui says:

This Moon  Festival was different for me because it was my first time to celebrate with my classmates!  Some classmates of E301 got together and had BBQ at one’s house.
It really brought a lot of memories for us.

Huang Pei Chen says:

I had a BBQ  with my classmates last Saturday. It was my first time to celebrate Moon Festival with friends. Of course, I had a good time and ate a lot of meat. What’s better, we took hundreds of pictures when we barbecued. It was a pity we didn’t play sparkler.

12

nani says:

I had a BBQ party on Saturday at Kevin’s house.His parents prepared lots of foods for us.We played happily.I had a wonderful Moon Festival with many best friends.

clip_image0022

Kiki says:

What a special Mid-autumn Festival! We have a perfect reunion this year with my father, sisters, brothers, aunt, uncles, little cousins…lots of family members. No matter how far they are, we promise we must have a big reunion this year. And the picture below is my little brother. :))

From → News articles

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Connected Teaching and Learning

Education, lesson plans, technology

Vicky Loras's Blog

A Blog About Education

Oxford University Press

English Language Teaching Global Blog

Ed Tech Ideas

Tech Integration for Busy Teachers

What Ed Said

A blog about learning

Mr. Purdon's Class Blog

Where student writing matters!

idiolectica

"we do language. that may be the measure of our lives"

News Podge

the best news.

Benology 阿賓。學

A blog that we learn together. Keep thinking, doing and sharing.

English with a Twist

Succeed in Business with English

Erinis quotes

This blog is about words: a collection of quotes I like with my random thoughts.

An A-Z of ELT

Scott Thornbury's blog

teflgeek

thinking about language teaching

E for Educate

Enrich. Enlighten. Empower.

